Kami uses a dual-saving system, with both an internal Kami cloud sync and a Google Drive sync (we are a Google partner).
Kami is a cloud based service. That means that we do not save the files, instead we save the file's annotations. When you open a file in Kami, we are able to "remember" the characteristics of the file. When you re-open the file, we recognize the file's "blueprint" (if it is the exact same), and the file's annotations are loaded based on recognizing the file.
Note: The only exception to not uploading the actual file is when you use the Sharing feature from within Kami. You can remove the upload at any time by clicking the Sharing button and selecting "Remove upload" at the bottom.
The Kami cloud sync is almost instantaneous. You may notice the icon in the screenshot below, which means that your annotations have been saved to the Kami cloud sync. Please not that this does not mean the annotations have been saved back to Drive.
If you are working offline, you will instead see this icon:
This means that you need to wait to come back online before closing the document, or your annotations will not be saved to the Kami cloud sync.
If you want a file directory to save your files, we would recommend using Google Drive.
You can upload any file to Drive by selecting the Save button in the top right (looks like a floppy disk), and then selecting Upload under the Google Drive heading.
After you have uploaded the file, you can save back to Drive by selecting Save now. This option is found under the Google Drive heading, after you have uploaded the file.
If you open the file directly into Kami from Google Classroom or Google Drive, it will automatically be uploaded. You will still need to manually save back, unless you have a premium account, which unlocks the Auto save feature. Keep in mind that the Auto save feature takes around 30 seconds to kick in from when the annotation is made.
Note: The Kami cloud sync is separate from the Google Drive sync, and that they have different alerts.