Skip to main content
All CollectionsGetting StartedSetting up Kami
Sharing Files with other Kami users 🀝
Sharing Files with other Kami users 🀝

How to share your files with other people using Kami

Updated over a week ago

How to share your Kami file

Using the share function you can give chosen participants access to your original file or you can provide collaborators with their own ready-made personal copy.

There are two main types of files that you may want to share:

  1. Files saved into your Google Drive.

  2. Files not saved into Google Drive (saved on your computer, or just downloaded).

We will explain the methods for sharing both types of files.

Sharing Files Saved in Google Drive

You can share documents using the Share button in the top right corner of the menu bar in Kami. By using this method, people you share your file with will be able to open the file automatically into Kami.

First, click on the Share Link icon below:

Then once clicked on it takes you to the following Google Sharing window:

What the settings are for:

  • Restricted: This allows you to add specific users via their email addresses. You can also specify whether each collaborator has Read-only (can view the file but not make edits) or Read and Write permissions (can view and edit the document).

  • My Domain: This option will give all the people using your domain address (e.g. using the school's email service) access to your file.

  • Anyone with the link: Allows anyone who clicks on the link (copy and paste from the top of the Google Sharing screen) to be able to gain access your file in one of the following ways:
    ​
    ​- Viewer [cannot annotate or edit the same document]
    ​- Editor [ability to annotate or edit the same document]
    ​- Create Individual Copy [a new copy which can be edited and annotated on is created, any annotations on this copy won't be seen by yourself unless the document is reshared back to you]

Sharing files not saved into your Google Drive

Go to your Kami file and click the Share button in the top right corner of Kami, which looks like three dots connected by two lines.

If the document hasn't been saved yet then this window will show up:

Uploading to Kami Cloud means that the annotations will be saved to the Kami servers, allowing you to access the document from the Recents panel in Kami. From here onwards, it will not be able to be located elsewhere.

Once the annotations have been uploaded to our servers, you will be provided with a link:

This link can then be shared with anyone that you wish to work with. When they click on the link it will automatically open the file directly into Kami.

Removing access others have to your shared files

If you need to remove access you have given out to a shared file, you can do this by removing the ability to access through the Kami Google Sharing window.

To unshare the file you need to select 'Off' under 'Sharing Permission'.

This removes the document annotations from the Kami cloud and disables the sharing link. Anyone who tries to use the link after this point will receive the following message.

You are now good to go!

Did this answer your question?