Note: This process is meant for sharing with individuals, or for use with an LMS like Canvas/Schoology. To share using Google Classroom, please see these articles: 

How to share your Kami file

Using the share function you can give chosen participants access to your original file or you can provide collaborators with their own ready-made personal copy.

There are two main types of files that you may want to share:

  1. Files saved into your Google Drive.
  2. Files not saved into Google Drive (saved on your computer, or just downloaded).

We will explain the methods for sharing both types of file.

Sharing files saved into your Google Drive

Sharing can be done directly with Google Drive or via Kami using sharing links.

1. Via Google Drive

To Share through Google Drive, right-click the file and select Get shareable link or Share as seen below:

Enter the email addresses of the users you want to give access to your file.

You can then set the appropriate sharing permissions for the document.

  • Viewer: means the user can view the file and if they try to edit it, they will be prompted to create their own copy.
  • Commenter: user can only add comments.
  • Editor: the collaborators have full access to your original file and will all be making edits on the same file

Note: The recipients of the file must also open the file in Kami, to allow you to collaborate on the file.

2. Via Kami

You can also share via the Share button in the top right corner of Kami, which looks like three dots connected by two lines. Using this method your collaborators will have their file automatically opened in Kami.

Select the correct settings on the Google Sharing window:

  • Restricted: Allows you to add specific users via their email address. You can also specify whether each collaborator has Read only (can view the file but not make edits) or Read and Write permissions (can view and edit the document).
  • My domain: This option will give all the people using your domain address (e.g. use the schools email service) access to your file.
  • Anyone with the link: Allows anyone who clicks on the link (copy and pasted from the top of the Google Sharing screen) will be able to access your file. You can specify whether this includes view only or edit permissions. Note: if this option is chosen everyone who clicks on this link will be working from and annotating on the same File.

Sharing files not saved into your Google Drive

Go to your Kami file and click the Share button in the top right corner of Kami, which looks like three dots connected by two lines.

Once the file is uploaded to our servers, you will be provided with a link.

This link can then be shared with anyone that you wish to work with. When they click on the link it will automatically open the file in Kami.

Note: If Anyone with a link can annotate option is chosen, everyone who clicks on that link will be working from and annotating on the same File.

Removing access to shared files

If you need to remove access to a shared file, there are two ways to do that, depending on how the file was originally shared.

1.Files shared via Google Drive

For files shared via Google Drive, you can remove access by right-clicking on the file in Drive, opening up the share menu, and removing the individual users access to the file:

2. Files shared via the Kami Sharing Link

If the file has been shared out using a Kami Sharing Link, then to unshare the file, you need to:

  1. Open the original file in Kami
  2. Open the sharing menu using the Share button
  3. Click the Remove Upload button at the bottom of the share menu:

This removes the file upload from the Kami cloud and disables the sharing link. Anyone who tries to use the link after this point will receive the following message.

Did this answer your question?